Reviews

Kitchen and Bath Center - Manhattan Center for Kitchen and Bath

19 Total Reviews
4.6

Filter by Ranking

Filter by Source

Filter by Services

Recent Reviews of MCKB

5.0
Yelp

Review from

Source: Yelp | Oct 17, 2016

The showroom is nothing short of spectacular! And what's better is the workmanship that they produce is just as perfect. I had MCKB completely renovate my entire apartment from the kitchen, 3 bathrooms and all the flooring. I am so happy every time I walk in because it feels like perfection! I absolutely recommend MCKB if you are looking to do any home renovations!
5.0
Yelp

Review from

Source: Yelp | Oct 17, 2016

I must have been living under a rock my adult hood or depended on my ex girlfriend for taste. Recently walked in to Manhattan center for kitchen and bath to try get inspired to redecorate my recently moved into apartment. Staff was not only helpful they were patient with me. They recommended the right kitchen that was within my budget. At first I was apprehensive about the investment I have no ties to quality installers or most importantly how to decorate the other 75% of my apartment. Long story short when people come over now they are mesmerized on how great my apartment looks, especially my kitchen. Thank you so much for everything. I wish I came in earlier.
5.0
MCKB Email

Review from

Source: MCKB Email | Sep 22, 2016

“Charming” and “luscious” were the first words someone used to describe our apartment following our recent renovation. We credit MCKB for the results.

We loved working with MCKB. Here are some the of reasons.

Most contractors give a price and a timeline and miss on one or both. MCKB was accurate on both. MCKB told us our renovation would take 3-3.5 months after the permits were issued by the City. They hit this deadline exactly. They also provided accurate cost estimates up front.

Our tick list for items that needed adjustment/fixing/etc. consisted of one thing: a minor change to a floor outlet to ensure the receptacles matched the faceplate. That’s it.

Innovation is hard to come by no matter where you are and what you do. We were very impressed that MCKB offered some ideas that truly improved our layout and use of space. We’re talking ideas that we would NEVER have come up with on our own. And this is par for the course with them. They have good taste and the work with top flight people and providers.

The workmanship was top flight. The materials are grade A. We love our apartment and the work performed by MCKB. And they are very easy to work with. We found all of the people at MCKB and the companies under their umbrella to be straight forward, honest and direct. They made each step in the process simple and approachable.

One last candid word. We could have renovated our apartment for less money. However, we would not have gotten what we wanted and what we have. We got great value, an honest deal and we could not be happier with our choice to work with MCKB for our apartment.

Wishing all of you the best – B (&C)
5.0
Yelp

Review from

Source: Yelp | Apr 21, 2016

My experience working with Hany Gerges from MCKB on remodeling my apartment was absolutely excellent from start to finish. I had just begun a gut renovation of my 350 square foot studio, and was looking to achieve a unified décor so that my kitchen area, built-in wall unit, and windowsill/radiator cover would all compliment each other without being overly "matchy-matchy."

After several weeks of exploring every kitchen showroom I came across and browsing through countless design magazines, I was overwhelmed with options. Then one day strolled into MCKB. I was instantly wowed by one of the kitchens in their showroom. The charcoal brown cabinet doors were sophisticated and elegant, the aluminum handles and steel appliances gave it a modern edge, and the fresh marble-ish quartzite countertop/backsplash exuded a light yet luxurious vibe. It was love at first sight. I spoke with the owner Sol and made an appointment to come back for a consultation with their lead design specialist. To my surprise, I was quoted a price that was quite reasonable given the high quality of the cabinetry manufacturers they carry.

Through every step of the process, I relied on Hany's design expertise, as well as his exquisite taste, to help steer me in the right direction. He made sure that the end result would be ideal based on the size and layout of the space he was working with. Hany provided detailed drawings of the project and took the time to go over every detail with me until everything looked perfect. He was extremely helpful and diligent about making all of the necessary revisions. By the time we finalized the plan, I felt comfortable that I had considered every option available.

The project manager (Lori), the cabinet installer (Geovanny) and the countertops/backsplash installer (Ori) were all extremely competent and everything was handled in the utmost professional manner. Working with the entire MCKB team was truly a pleasure and I am extremely happy with the final result.

It has been a year since the project ended and I am still in awe of how beautiful the finished product is! I am so grateful for all of the hard work that went into helping me make all of my studio renovation dreams come true and would highly recommend MCKB to anyone looking to upgrade their home!
4.0
Judy's Book

Review from

Source: Judy's Book | Apr 6, 2016

Undertaking a full gut renovation can be a daunting task, especially in NYC. It is without exaggeration to state that our decision to engage MCKB for our kitchen remodel was the best decision we made across the entire project. Your team was extremely skillful from design perspective, maximizing every last inch of space. The firm represents quality brands/solutions, and provided us with impeccable customer service. Like with all renovation projects, we did encounter some minor hurdles, which most importantly, were dealt with empathetically, and rectified swiftly. The end result is something we are very pleased/proud of. I highly recommend your service to anyone – we will definitely look to use you for our next project. Thank again, ~ Andrew, New York
4.0
BuildZoom

Review from

Source: BuildZoom | Apr 5, 2016

At MCKB, I had the good fortune to come into contact with designer Hany, who interacted patiently with me over an extended period, always carefully balancing what I wanted (or thought I wanted) against what he knew from his experience would and wouldn’t work. This collaborative approach was what helped me arrive at the comfort level I personally needed in order to go ahead with the project. Once design was finalized, I chose to go with SGC Contracting, to get the benefit of the close association and communication between the design function and the construction function.
5.0
Yelp

Review from

Source: Yelp | Mar 31, 2016

I had a great experience working with MCK+B designer Hany on remodeling my daughter's kitchen and creating custom built-in furniture for her Tudor City Manhattan studio apartment.

Immediately after signing the contract, Hany stopped by the apartment to not only measure the area but to also get a feel for what will work best for the space. He took his time, made sketches and put together detailed notes.

The project was unique. From the beginning, we had strong opinions on how the cabinets should be put together.  However, during the design phase, we were easily convinced by Hany about the number of changes that needed to be implemented vs. what we initially had in mind.  At the end, the new options proved to be the best ones that worked for the space.

As part of the project, we needed to incorporate some custom cabinetry features, such as large hanging jewelry box, keyed file cabinets, computer desk with hidden space for outlets and wires, radiator covers, etc. They were all tastefully designed and properly constructed.   The stone for the kitchen counters and the backsplash style and texture were carefully selected to work well with the cabinetry. Hany also made sure that the new hardwood floors were not clashing with the finish of the cabinetry and that the appliances, cabinet lighting, glass doors and handles complimented the design.  The work between the designer, installer and the stone contractor was coordinated smoothly, and the entire project was completed within a few days after the cabinets were delivered, without any delays.

Now that the work is finished, everyone absolutely loves the newly designed space! The custom built-in wall unit works great with the new kitchen cabinetry creating a conducive environment for spending time in the kitchen area, as well as in the office /personal space area.  It is amazing to see how a good designer can incorporate so many functions in custom built-in furniture of a relatively small studio.

I also want to acknowledge Geovanny (installer), Ori (stone contractor), Lory (project manager) and Sol (MCK+B owner).  They are a truly professional team and nice people to work with, and they definitely deserve five shining stars!!
4.0
Judy's Book

Review from

Source: Judy's Book | Mar 22, 2016

Hello everyone at Manhattan Center for Kitchen and Bath, thanks to all who have worked together to get us to the grand finale of our kitchen renovation. While there have been a few minor bumps, we are so pleased with all the craftsmanship and hard work that has gone into making our new kitchen so beautiful. Much appreciated! Best, J.K.B. NYC
4.0
Judy's Book

Review from

Source: Judy's Book | Mar 10, 2016

It's been a pleasure working with all of you, but especially you, Meryl! When it's all finished- banquette cushions, lighting fixture & all, perhaps you may want to photograph!! Beautiful kitchen, very happy. A.H. – Manhattan
5.0
Angie's List

Review from

Source: Angie's List | Sep 19, 2015

We recently undertook a complete gut renovation of our small kitchen by MCKB (Manhattan Center Kitchen and Bath). This was one of many renovation projects for us, so we have had extensive experience with other contractors. This was our second project with MCKB. Every aspect of the project, from planning with Hany, to its execution with Meryl and Lori, was flawless. Hany listened carefully to our ideas and helped us design a kitchen to expand our storage space dramatically while respecting our own sense of design. He thoughtfully planned every detail.

There were no “surprises” at any point in the project. The timeline was met and communication was excellent. The tradesmen who worked in our apartment were considerate of the building regulations and were very careful to protect the work area. All of their work was done beautifully and was up to code. Our input during the project was always considered and a few punch list items were corrected. The result is a beautiful and functional kitchen. We could not be more pleased with the result and we highly recommend MCKB.
5.0
Yelp

Review from

Source: Yelp | Aug 12, 2015

We had a 10 year old kitchen previously purchased from a competitor on W. 18th street. The competitor did a horrible job, refusing to correct problem arising from the manufacturer (Bertch), and we lived with mismatched (color-wise) cabinets. Bothered me every time I looked at them! Plus they were of inferior quality inside and were starting to show signs of wear.

So wife and I decided to replace the upper cabinets (only), since the bottom cabinets were of a different material, and basically OK.

After a lot of shopping around, we found upper cabinets we really liked at MCK&B. Italian, with touch lights, great doors, good materials, etc. But we were concerned, given the bad experience years earlier.

We worked with Hany on the design, and used their contractor. We explained our fears and concerns, and he was very understanding. Full of assurances. Well it took about 6 months for the project to come to fruition (including the Italian summer shut-down), but the end result was fabulous. We couldn't be happier.

During installation, the installer found (very minor) problems with a couple of cabinet doors and had replacements air shipped from Italy. When a few of the lights didn't work, the contractor had them replaced as well. Start to finish, the installation took 3 days. One day demo, one day prep, one day install. All done professionally. They cleaned constantly and there was no mess or dust after the work was done each day.

This was about a year ago, and I am still thrilled with the cabinets. I would recommend Hany at MCK&B and would use them again.
5.0
Yelp

Review from

Source: Yelp | Jun 10, 2015

Nearly a year later and I am still so very pleased with my kitchen. Greg was fabulous to work with on design. The product itself is amazing. We could not be happier. I recently dinged my cabinet...after a quick call to MCKB, an order was placed for a replacement, several weeks later, they came out to do the switch! No more dinged cabinet. I have nothing by positive things to say. Beware of cabinets manufactured at your contractor's suggestion, because if they warp, become damaged for whatever reason, you may not be able to replace (or it can be very difficult to replace).
5.0
Yelp

Review from

Source: Yelp | Apr 3, 2015

We recently undertook a complete gut renovation of our small kitchen by MCKB. This was one of many renovation projects for us, so we have had extensive experience with other contractors. This was our second project with MCKB. Every aspect of the project, from planning with Hany, to its execution with Meryl and Lori, was flawless. Hany listened carefully to our ideas and helped us design a kitchen to expand our storage space dramatically while respecting our own sense of design. He thoughtfully planned every detail.

There were no "surprises" at any point in the project. The timeline was met and communication was excellent. The tradesmen who worked in our apartment were considerate of the building regulations and were very careful to protect the work area. All of their work was done beautifully and was up to code. Our input during the project was always considered and a few punch list items were corrected. The result is a beautiful and functional kitchen. We could not be more pleased with the result and we highly recommend MCKB.
5.0
Yelp

Review from

Source: Yelp | Jan 23, 2015

I bought a house in Queens and did a complete renovation. I used MCKB for the renovation and installation of my kitchen. The design by Greg Hitchcock was a simple and easy process he understood my pedantic needs and designed the most amazing modern and functional kitchen. Product selection and availability for appliances cupboards and tops was extensive. Installation and management of the process from design to installation was seamless.

Great job.

I also used the bathroom designers to help with tiles, bath, shower and faucets. The team had a great understanding of my concept and provided a wide range of options for all my needs. Bathroom and kitchen are the 2 most stunning rooms in my house...

Thanks very much to the team.
4.0
Judy's Book

Review from

Source: Judy's Book | Jan 22, 2015

This letter is long overdue, but we want to thank you for the wonderful renovations you made to our home in 2012. The design plan for our kitchen, dining room, bathroom and part of our living room was just what we wanted – functional and completely up-to-date in terms of technology and materials. Hany, you made the process easy, enjoyable, educational and effortless, and produced stunning results. Sol, the construction job took four months from start to finish and we never had a moment’s worry. The workers were always there, always professional, and incredibly, the dust and debris were minimal. We waited a long time before we decided to make these renovations to our home, and were fortunate to work with both of you. Everyone who comes into our house just cannot get over the dramatic make-over. Our home is now so comfortable and beautiful thanks to your creative, competent work. You are definitely a dynamic duo. Kudos on a job well done!
4.0
Yelp

Review from

Source: Yelp | Jan 20, 2015

My experience was all positive. Our plan was to gut an apartment and put in a high end kitchen. I went to 4 or 5 kitchen places, and they were all bait and switch, and communicated poorly, and did not point out issues with their products. I went to MCKB, got an appointment with a designer, and it was a breath of fresh air. They told me how the business worked. They did not put down the competition, but showed me where to look for hidden issues.

The project was complex. We found the right cabinets and hardware, but we have an overall designer who was in making sure all the colors and flooring worked together, and an installation person, and a appliances person .. and they all had to work together! MCKB made that happen by providing detailed engineering grade documents, and even, to my delight, 3d elevations so that every player could have a common vision of the end result.

Our designer, Greg Hitchcock included all sorts of great surprises we did not even plan on, like the way the drawers were laid out,  and the inserts ... and on and on.

Literally, they were able to collaborate with a team of designers in 2 cities, across a 9 month project, and it all landed on its feet, and oh, its beautiful, and its very very functional.

I am sorry for the folks who had a bad experience on small projects ... but mine was great on a big project. The only reason for a 4 not a five was I have no idea if that's as good as it gets ... but it certainly met my expectations and I will use them again. I suspect the other reviewers had not dealt large projects with design houses before, so their expectations were not in line with that type of business process.
5.0
Houzz

Review from

Source: Houzz | Jun 1, 2014

Manhattan Center for Kitchen and Bath is the award winning, premier kitchen and bath showroom in New York City. Grothouse has had the pleasure of working with MCKB for several years. MCKB is excellent to work with because of their years of experience in designing and installation of full custom kitchens, for both residential and commercial spaces. Their experienced team helps guide you step by step toward your home improvement goals from a simple remodel to complete home renovation. Their displays carry the finest bathrooms, home theatre systems, closets, wood flooring, tile, and state of the art appliances. Grothouse gives MCKB the absolute highest recommendation.

Denise Grothouse The Grothouse Lumber Company http://www.glumber.com/
5.0
Houzz

Review from

Source: Houzz | Jul 1, 2013

MCKB is an Exceptional Kitchen & Bath Dealership, where excellence, product knowledge, experience, state of the art and Professionalism is their middle name.

I have known and worked with the owner Sol Kassorla, for many years. When they say it starts at the top, his Attitude ,Desire to Serve the Customer or Professional, High Standards and Integrity set the tone for everyone else that is associated with MCKB.

I am a very astute and detailed Professional and if you're looking for the Best of the Breed, your at the right place for Kitchens & Baths, from Concept to Completion!

I would give them a 5 Star Rating Plus!
4.0
Insider Pages

Review from

Source: Insider Pages | Jan 19, 2009

MCKB has a huge beautiful showroom and the people were very friendly and willing to speak to me and not pushy. The appliance woman they have there is unbelievably knowledgable and asked us questions we never thought about and saved us thousands of dollars in mistakes. the downstairs has a bathroom selection that is small, but shows a great variety and has working showerheads!!

They are a little more expensive but it was worth having my apartment done right.

Pin It on Pinterest